Minutes BIFHSGO Annual General Meeting 12 June 2021

(via Zoom)

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 9:03 a.m.; 109 members present.

Approval of the Minutes of the 2020 Annual General Meeting

AGM Motion 1—Motion to approve the minutes of the 2020 AGM as amended, proposed by Gillian Leitch and seconded by Barbara Tose. Passed.

Note: all voting was carried out using anonymous polls within Zoom.

Summary of the Directors' Reports

President's Report—Duncan Monkhouse

- > This has been an interesting year, not necessarily a good one.
- ➤ The 2020 Annual Conference was postponed to September 2021. The conference will be held virtually between the 19th to 26th of September. 186 people have registered already.
- ➤ We have had issues with membership databases.
- ➤ We have lost a number of board members. Susan Davis resigned from Communications. The board has been missing three (3) members of the nine (9) required for most of the year, meaning a larger workload for those remaining.
- ➤ The website has had hosting issues, and a committee headed by Sheila Faure has been working to update and move our website. A Conference website has also been created and is live now. The new Society website should be live by September.
- > Zoom is working well for our meetings and will continue to be used exclusively for meetings through the fall.
- We have noticed that 20% of the members are from outside of the Ottawa area.
- > The education talks have been dropped.
- We have a new database on War Brides' stories on our website.
- ➤ We want to thank all our volunteers!

Presentation of the Financial Statements

Treasurer—Marianne Rasmus

- > As distributed.
- ➤ 2020 was an unusual year—revenue and expenses were down.
- > The Society is in a positive financial position.
- > The Society's revenue derives mostly from membership fees, because this year there was no conference.
- ➤ Net income is \$2723.
- Asked if there are any questions from the membership. None.

Appointment of the Public Accountant for 2021

AGM Motion 2—Appointment of the Public Accountant McCay Duff LLP to conduct a review of the Society's books for 2021, proposed by Marianne Rasmus and seconded by Barbara Tose. Passed.

Awards and Presentations

Hall of Fame Presented to Andrea Harding:

Since joining BIFHSGO in 2014, Andrea has served tirelessly with skill and enthusiasm. She served on the Board from 2016–2019 as Education and Program Director and currently is a member of the Conference

and Website Committees. She has contributed much to the society's operation including redrafting Board job descriptions, leading conference social media and, since January of this year, has coordinated communications for the society. She has played a key role in the creation of the Conference website and is currently on the team creating the new BIFHSGO website. She is a talented "ideas person," skilled at communicating messages, with a strong commitment to BIFHSGO.

Best Talk by a Member presented to Marianne Rasmus for her talk:

"A Russian Revelation: A Family Shaped by Significant Historical Events" given at the May 2021 Meeting.

Best Article by a Member presented to Bette Smith for her article:

"Emily Charts a New Course" published in the Spring 2021 issue of Anglo-Celtic Roots.

Special Recognition for the group responsible for the No 1 Casualty Canadian Clearance Station—"We Will Remember Them"—biographies: Sheila Dohoo Faure, Jean Kitchen, Heather Carmody, Lynda Gibson, Lynne Willoughby, Marcia Clement, Nigel Lloyd.

Report of the Nominating Committee

Nominations Report—Past President, Barbara Tose

- ➤ Changes in the Board: John McConkey will be leaving, Marianne Rasmus is moving to Programs and Dianne Brydon is moving to the position of Director-at-Large.
- > The other Board members are remaining: Duncan Monkhouse, Barbara Tose, Ann Burns and Gillian Leitch.
- New volunteers for the Board: Jennifer Hill (Treasurer), Ken McKinlay (Research), Lynne Baxter (Director-at-large), and Sue Dawes (Director-at-Large).
- ➤ Called three times for nominations from the membership—none.
- ➤ Voting of the new members will be as a slate rather than as individuals.

Election of Directors

- Slate presented to membership for election: Jennifer Hill, Ken McKinlay, Lynne Baxter, and Sue Dawes.
- Passed.
- ➤ Board presented to membership: Duncan Monkhouse (President), Marianne Rasmus (Program), Gillian Leitch (Secretary), Jennifer Hill (Treasurer), Ann Burns (Membership), Ken McKinlay (Research), Dianne Brydon (Director-at-large), Lynne Baxter (Director-at-large), Sue Dawes (Director-at-large), Barbara Tose (Past-President).

Other Business

Thanks to Tim Mark for his work in recruiting volunteers!

Adjournment

Meeting adjourned 9:30 a.m.